What is the fine for not wearing a mask in Bexar County, Texas?
Despite the best efforts and sacrifices of a lot of good people, the COVID-19 virus continues to be a crisis in Texas. Governor Greg Abbott issued an executive order at the beginning of the month, ahead of the holiday weekend, that required people to wear face masks and businesses to take steps to protect their employees and customers. Unfortunately, Bexar County has met the grim threshold that has required masks to be worn in public through the area. So, what is the fine for not wearing a mask in Bexar County, Texas? For businesses who flout the order, they can be fined up $1,000 per violation and individuals can be fined as much as $250. Let’s take a look at some information you might need.
READ MORE: What is the Toyota Corolla Cross?
Will I get fined if I forget my mask at home?
According to the executive order, issued by Bexar County Judge Nelson W. Wolff, individuals caught out in public without wearing a mask can be issued a fine of up to $250 per violation. However, a person not following the order will get a written or verbal warning first.
A business that doesn’t follow the executive order’s guidelines could be on the hook for up $1,000 in fines per violation. Some of the business requirements include, requiring employees and customers to wear masks where social distancing can’t be practiced and displaying common COVID-19 symptoms by employee and customer entrances. More information for businesses can be found on the Bexar County website.
Do I have to wear a mask while I’m at home or in my car?
Judge Wolff’s executive order only applies to people that are in buildings or other spaces that are open to the public. If someone is choosing to stay home or just be outside on their own property with the people who live with them will not need to wear masks. The same applies if someone is driving somewhere with people they live with. However, if you’re giving someone a ride somewhere or doing a carpool, everyone should be wearing a mask.
Does my mask have to be an N95 or medical grade?
Anything that a person can comfortably breathe through will work just fine for meeting the county’s new masking requirements. In fact, Judge Wolff’s order specifically asks that people save N95 and medical grade masks to be reserved for medical personnel.
Alamo Toyota has done everything we can to ensure that it is safe to shop at our showroom or bring your vehicle in for service. If you’d like to learn more about what we’ve done, don’t hesitate to reach out today.